News & Social
FDMC Forum
Event Reports
Types Of Event
About FDMC
Contact Us
Event locations

Recent updates:

This is the Club's archive website to 2017.
Go to the new site

New Club website from 2018.
Switch Now

Find us on Facebook
FDMC March Solo 2011, Page 2

A traffic jam? Not at all, we could fit another half dozen in here... Solo drivers, practicing the art of 'close parking' in the start / finish area, while Graham Widdows, marshalling in the yellow jacket, seems to be seeking inspiration.

In Class F, for low volume sports / kit cars, regular contender Dick Whittington and his red Caterham finished on 626.1 seconds, to win the class and finish 5th overall. Steve Woodings was competing for the first time in his recently acquired MK Indy Blade, a few mistakes keeping him off the podium, but the times showed what we can expect, pretty soon. Richard Pennick, sharing Andrew Clark's 106XSi, is seen here having a steamy moment, but once the fan had been switched on (!), the Peugeot ran happily all day.

David Garside drove his Clio 16V to finish third in Class C, and it's for sale, if you're quick, only 700! David Manning, sharing this Mini with father Peter, was the winner in Class B, also finishing 10th overall. Maciej Knapinski, who we first saw with this Fiat Seicento last year, returned to take second in the same class, and 15th overall.

From the Lower family (no strangers to motorsport), Barney was another last minute entrant with his Mini, and had to leave promptly after this event, to compete in a rally ! Meanwhile, father Kevin was driving his LSD equipped RS2000 to third place in Class A, the Historics. We finish with George Hampson giving the Go signal to Andy Wilson, in his very rare, and mint- condition Lancia Beta Monte Carlo.

For more information about these events, see AutoSolo's.

Award winners

Fastest time of day: Matt Carter, Honda S2000

Index award: Keith Pettit, Mk 1 Sprite

1st in class awards:
Class A: Matt Wheatley, Mini 1275GT
Class B: David Manning, Mini 1.3
Class C: Ben Griffin, Peugeot 106 Rallye
Class D: Shaun Finch, Mitsubishi Evo
Class E: James Llewellyn, Mazda MX5
Class F: Dick Whititngton, Caterham

Full results for the event will be here, soon


Copyright Farnborough District Motor Club Ltd, 1999 - 2018.