News & Social
FDMC Forum
Event Reports
Types Of Event
About FDMC
Contact Us
Event locations

Recent updates:

Regs and entry for the 17/Sept
September Solo

Find us on Facebook
FDMC Dimanche Sprint, March 2008

(Action photos by Ray and Tracy, of Breathecosse Media, and lots more at www.breathecosse.com)

This report is in two sections; for more pictures, and results, click 'Page 2', below.

'Pleine vitesse, a l'arene de Rushmoor!'

Our annual visit to Rushmoor Arena started with the track wet from overnight rain, but drying out through the day, so by the time of the serious runs, the drivers were (mostly) staying on the tarmac! The top award was decided in dramatic style on the last runs, with Roger Binyon taking Fastest Time of Day in his Metro 6R4 by just 0.01 of a second, from Simon Besant's V8 Westfield, and the ever-young Robert Farley pushing his SCC Stylus into third overall.

In this report, we'll try to show the variety of cars in which you can enjoy sprinting - almost anything on wheels! The entry included nine members of the MG Car Cub, contesting the Luffield Cars MGCC Speed Championship, and in the Production class, Andrew Till and his MG ZR finished first in class, with Chris Hopkins close behind in his Alfa 147 JTD; yes, diesels can be sprinted too.

Simon Taylor won Class 3 with his Alpine Renault GTA V6 turbo, a rare right hand drive example; Allan Brown was a class winner in his much developed Mini Marcos, and Alastair Fack finished 8th overall with the mighty TR7 V8.

New or recent FDMC members, competing here for the first time, included Vance Day with his drive-to-work Astra; Matt Wheatly with his 1700 Westfield; Porsche collector Bill Stephens, who recently finished rebuilding this 356; and Barry Griffiths, returning to motorsport with a newly acquired Mini Cooper.

In this startline shot, Renault Alpine enthusiast Tony Gomis launches his A110 towards second place in Class 6, observed by marshals John Nicholls and Trevor Thomas, with Martyn Crowe's Metro GTi waiting its turn.

For more pictures, and results, click to PAGE 2

Copyright Farnborough District Motor Club Ltd, 1999 - 2017.