News & Social
FDMC Forum
Event Reports
Types Of Event
About FDMC
Contact Us
Event locations

Recent updates:

This is the Club's archive website to 2017.
Go to the new site

New Club website from 2018.
Switch Now

Find us on Facebook
FDMC Sprint Royale, October 2009, Page 2

Paul Fidler took his red Mini to 6th overall, on the way to winning Class 6, chased by Allan Brown in his Marcos (also powered by Mini mechanicals), who took second in the same class.

Our next picture shows Andy Thomas' Metro GTi ready to go, while Steve Woodings and Ian Stevens' attention swings to Howard Harman's beautifully restored MG PA.

Laptops - the toolkit of the future ? Paul Robinson and Ian Bennett go into diagnostic mode with the engine of their Renault 5 Gordini Turbo, while Matt Carter interrogates the data logger in his Honda S2000, with which he was the winner in Class 2, also finishing 4th overall.

New FDMC member Michael Leese, on his first appearance with this very smart Golf, finished fourth in Class 2. And in Class 7, MGCC's Terry Drinkwater was the winner with his highly developed MGA Coupe, whose spec includes an MGB engine, plus a crossflow head.

Sprint Royale - the video

And the mystery car? It's a Simca 1000... somewhere in the boot is the engine.... and (little - known fact) FDMC's Paul Prescott learned to drive on one of these.

For more information about sprinting, see Speed Events, and the Sprinting section of our Forum

Overall and Class winners (with times in seconds)

Fastest Time of Day, Ian Gaskell, Westfield 1.4, 54.19

Class Winners:

Class 0, 1st Andrew Till, MG ZR, 63.28
Class 1, 1st Bruce Aitken, Citroen AXGT, 61.89
Class 2, 1st Matt Carter, Honda S2000, 57.67
Class 3, 1st Simon Taylor, Alpine Renault GTA Turbo, 60.70
Class 4, 1st Andrew Thompson, Caterham 7, 58.33
Class 6, 1st Paul Fidler, Mini, 58.98
Class 7, 1st Terry Drinkwater, MGA, 61.42
Class 8, 1st Terry Pigott, 54.54
Class 9, 1st George Channon, Metro 6R4, 57.59

Full results available here, Results.xls


Copyright Farnborough District Motor Club Ltd, 1999 - 2018.